My First map of the project

All this weekend I worked on a map in 3ds Max 2012 and played around with some of the new functions.  I created many areas such as desserts, a mountain range, plains, grasslands and even threw in a few lakes.  I’ll get started on rivers and cities probably throughout the week and next weekend.  Yesterday I spent about 2-3 hours setting up a playable ‘demo’ so I can use a character and map to adjust scaling, some basic camera settings and game mechanics.

Most of the day today I was busy modelling a map and rendered a screenshot so I can post here so I have an online timeline I can use to estimate my level of progress.  Most of it looks very cartoonish at the moment but thats not the final look that it will have when I’m done modelling, adding more landscape and texturing everything.

Right now I’m just getting the basics for the map in place and the structure of the landscapes.  The map mainly consists of planes, boxes, spheres, pyramids and some modified pieces of basic geometry at the moment but it appears to be progressing pretty well.  Sometime during the earlier part of the week I’ll work on my demo code a little more and use the latter part of the week as well as next weekend to continue on the map.  I’m not exactly sure how long it will take to get my map(s), playable character(s) and my custom playable demo working the way I want it to so I won’t bother posting a date yet.

For now I’ll take a break, play some Dungeon Seige 2 (oldy but a goody) and then get ready to go to sleep since I have to actually work for a living.  However, I might not have to if all goes well in the next several months.

Fortunately, I have made progress on some other small map areas:

 

I have recently started editing my color maps and textures in sketchbook and really find the results quite impressive!  The added functionality of its layer systems are very useful and prove to be very necessary.  Sketchbook in general makes life easier and I’ll gladly use it over Photoshop anyday!

One response to “My First map of the project

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours these days, yet I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is lovely price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the net will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

Give a comment

